HISTORY OF THE FRATERNAL ORDER OF POLICE CRESCENT CITY LODGE #2

A brief history of the Fraternal Order of Police, Crescent City Lodge #2 compiled by Gus Krinke, Past President.

In 1915, the life of a policeman was bleak. In many communities they were forced to work 12 hour days, 365 days a year. Police officers didn't like it, but there was little they could do to change their working conditions. They were no organizations to make their voices heard, nor other means to make their grievances known.

This soon changed thanks to the courage and wisdom of two Pittsburg police officers. Martin Toole and Delbert Nagle knew they must first organize police officers, like other labor interests, if they were to be successful in making life better for themselves and their fellow police officers. They and 21 others "who were willing to take a chance" met on May 14, 1915 and held the first meeting of the Fraternal Order of Police.

And so it began, a tradition of police officers representing police officers. The Fraternal Order of Police was given life by two dedicated police officers determined to better their profession and those who choose to protect and serve our communities, our States and our Country.

The Crescent City Lodge was formed in 1952 and William 'Bill' Stevens was chosen to be the Lodge President.

In 1953, the first election was held and Eldred Paternostro was the first elected Lodge President.

The members of Paternostro's Board of Directors were:

Eldred Paternostro, President; Louie Sirgo; Joe Williams; Joe Giarrusso; Ernie Simineaux; Connie Drumm; Alois Hirt; Bill Stevens; Adolph Meyerhefer; Bob Berriere; Ike Foster; and, Frank Locasico.

The Crescent City Lodge was chartered on August 4, 1954 and the newly elected officers were as listed, serving for the year 1954:

President Joseph I Giarrusso

1st Vice President Ernest M. Simoneaux, Sr.

2nd Vice President Joseph Williams

Financial Secretary Louie Sirgo

Recording Secretary Cornelius (Connie) Drumm

Treasurer Frank Locasio

Conductor Harold "Ike" Foster Inner Guard Robt. Barrere, Jr. Outer Guard Edward M. Reuther

Chaplain Alois Hirt

Trustees William J. McNamara

William Stevens Adolph Meyerhefer

Other charter members included:

Jay Sedgebeer Lionel Estopinal William Moore Frank A. Marullo, Sr. Larry Hand

John Delpuget

John Weber

Harold "Hap" Giarrusso

James Auondel

August Maureau

John Zarinski

J.E. Gray

Warren Bonano

Raymond Aldrich

Fred Chateau

Louis Moore

Paul Schreiber

Thomas Brooks

Joe Schiro

Raoul Roques

W. J. Blumstein

Alfred A. Theriot, Sr.

Albert Blancher

The 1955 Board of Directors of the Crescent City Lodge #2 of the Fraternal Order of Police were:

President Lt. Raymond Ruiz
Financial Secretary Sgt. Frank Locasico
First Vice President Det. Joe Williams
Second Vice President Sgt. Connie Drumm
Treasurer Det. William Stevens

Conductor Ptn. Ike Foster
Trustee Ptn. Albert Lanne
Outer Guard Sgt. Ira Austin

Inner Guard Ptn. Hebert Barrere Recording Secretary Sgt. Albertine Blum

Trustee Major William McNamara
Trustee Ptn. Clarence Giarrusso
Chaplain Ptn. Charles Recknagel

The first two non-police personnel awarded Honorary Membership to the Crescent City Lodge #2 were: Col. Jimmy Roos and Rudolph Becker, Sr.

The first National Trustee for the Crescent City Lodge #2 was "Connie" Drumm.

The final surviving Charter Member was "Hap" Giarrusso, who